Hornbill Unleashed

August 17, 2016

PBB to accept partyless five

Filed under: Politics — Hornbill Unleashed @ 9:02 PM

kch-bp160816-go-Adenan-p3 - Page 1 main pix copyParti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) has decided to accept five of the six Barisan Nasional (BN) elected representatives who are still partyless into its fold.

This was announced by Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Adenan Satem at a press conference at his office at Wisma Bapa Malaysia here yesterday.

However, he said they will have to make an official membership application to the PBB branch in their respective constituencies which will then refer the applications to the respective party divisions.

“We have decided to accept in principle, either the return or application of these five elected representatives into PBB. We will work out on the details later on,” he said.

With five more elected representatives joining PBB, the party would have 45 out of the 82 seats in the State Legislative Assembly.

Despite controlling over half of the seats Adenan who is the president of PBB assured that his party will uphold the power- sharing agreement with Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS), Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) and Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP) the other BN component parties.

“So now, PBB will have 45 out of 82 state seats. Even though on our own, we have the majority, it doesn’t mean that we are not prepared to share power with the other Barisan component parties.

“The cabinet will remain as it is, consisting of members from PRS, SUPP, SPDP and even UPP,”

The five elected representatives are Serembu assemblyman Miro Simuh, Bukit Semuja assemblyman John Ilus, Datuk Gerawat Jala (Mulu), Rosey Yunus (Bekenu) and Paulus Palu Gumbang (Batu Danau).

They were among eleven BN direct candidates who resigned from their parties to contest in the last state polls on May 7 and won.

After the election Dato Sri Wong Soon Koh (Bawang Assan) and Datuk Tiong Thai King (Dudong) returned to United People’s Party, their former party .

Three other former UPP members Datuk Dr Jerip Susil (Mambong), Ranum Mina (Opar) and Dr Johnical Rayong (Engkilili) rejoined the party last week.

That left the five who are joining PBB and Tan Sri William Mawan the assemblyman for Pakan without a party.

With the impending acceptance of the five assemblymen into PBB only Mawan has yet to join any party.

With regards to Pakan assemblyman Tan Sri William Mawan Ikom, who had voiced his intention to join PBB in the past, Adenan said PBB will give him more time to think the matter over as he had requested for more time to decide.

When asked on the position of Dr Jerip , Ranum and Johnical, the chief minister said their decision to rejoin UPP was their own business. The most important thing is that they continue to support BN, he added.

Meanwhile, Miro when speaking to the press after the announcment expressed his gratitude for being accepted back into the party.

“To be accepted into PBB has given us a more comfortable and stronger platform to serve the people when compared as being a direct BN candidate,” he said.

Also present were deputy chief ministers Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas and Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg, as well as state BN secretary general Datuk Dr Stephen Rundi Utom.

Geryl Ogilvy Ruekeith, reporters@theborneopost.com


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: