Hornbill Unleashed

September 15, 2016

EC seeks to change names of 12 parliamentary seats

Filed under: Politics — Hornbill Unleashed @ 9:01 PM

sprThe Election Commission (EC) is seeking to change the names of 12 parliamentary seats and 34 state constituencies nationwide.

In a notice published in the New Straits Times today, the EC said the proposed changes would only affect the names of the seats and not the number of seats, whether federal or state.

The bulk of federal seats affected by the name changes are in Selangor (5), followed by three in Perak, and one each in Kedah, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Negeri Sembilan and Johor. The five seats in Selangor and the sole seat in KL are Opposition-held.

Among the seats involved are Teresa Kok’s (DAP) Seputeh constituency, which will now be renamed Sri Petaling, and Serdang (whose MP is DAP’s Ong Kian Ming), which will now be renamed as Bangi.

Tony Pua’s Petaling Jaya Utara seat will be renamed as Damansara. Hee Loy Sian’s (PKR) Petaling Jaya Selatan seat will be known as just Petaling Jaya, while Kelana Jaya (whose MP is Wong Chen), will be renamed as Subang.

The current Subang seat, held by PKR’s R Sivarasa, will now be Sungai Buloh.

As for state seats, the bulk of the 34 with proposed name changes are in Johor.

Those with any objection to the proposed name changes have a month’s time, from the day the notice was published, to file their complaints.

Parties who can make objections to the recommendations are the state government, any local authority whose area is fully or partly comprised in the constituencies affected by the recommendation, or a body of “one hundred or more” persons, whose names are shown on the current electoral rolls of the constituencies in question, said the notice.

Meanwhile, the Borneo Post reported that the EC had posted notices of 13 proposed new state constituencies for Sabah.

The new seats are Bengkoka, Mengaris, Pintasan, Pantai Dalit, Darau, Tanjung Dumpil, Dampai, Tulid, Telupid, Sungai Manila, Lamag, Semaga and Kukusan.

FMT Reporters Online



  1. Malaysians must not let this bastard Election Commission chief to cheat us in the lastest gerrymandering conspiracy. We must send him a bullet to remind him that we have zero tolerance for election cheating .

    Comment by Awaken Dayak — September 16, 2016 @ 6:30 PM | Reply

  2. Gerrymandering?

    Comment by Wilson Wang — September 16, 2016 @ 11:38 AM | Reply

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: