Hornbill Unleashed

September 15, 2016

Election Commission changes names for 12 parliamentary, 34 state seats

Filed under: Politics — Hornbill Unleashed @ 9:02 PM

The Election Commission (EC) is seeking to change the names of 12 parliamentary seats and 34 state constituencies nationwide. — Pix by Kamles KumarIn its latest redelineation exercise, the Election Commission (EC) is seeking to change the names of 12 parliamentary seats and 34 state constituencies nationwide ahead of the next general elections due in 2018.

In an 18-page notice published in national daily New Straits Times today, the EC said the changes only affected the names of the seats and not the number of seats, whether federal or state, in the country.

The federal seats affected include one Kedah, three seats in Perak, five in Selangor, one in the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, one in Negri Sembilan and one in Johor.

The five affected parliamentary seats in Selangor and the sole Kuala Lumpur seat are currently held by the Opposition.

Veteran DAP lawmaker Teresa Kok who has been MP for Seputeh since Election 1999 will see her P.122 constituency renamed to Sri Petaling.

The P.102 seat now known as Serdang and held by DAP’s Ong Kian Ming, will be renamed Bangi while P.106 which is represented by Tony Pua will be changed from Petaling Jaya Utara to Damansara.

The other three Selangor seats affected are held by PKR MPs. The Petaling Jaya Selatan with the P.105 code held by Hee Loy Sian will be renamed just Petaling Jaya.

Kelana Jaya MP Wong Chen will see his seat renamed Subang and the current Subang seat held by P. Sivarasa will be renamed Sungai Buloh.

In Perak, the federal constituency of P.068 Beruas, currently held by DAP’s Ngeh Koo Ham, was renamed Ayer Tawar.

Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi who is the MP for his hometown of Bagan Datok in Perak will see a slight change to the spelling of its name to Bagan Datoh.

The notice also showed that the bulk of the 34 state seats to get new names is in Johor.

Among the state seat changes in Johor include N.07 Bukit Serampang to Bukit Kepong, N.08 Jorak to Bukit Pasir, N.13 Sungai Agong to Simpang Jeram, N.39 Tanjong Surat to Tanjung Surat, N.44 Tanjong Puteri to Larkin among others.

Other states that saw their assembly seats renamed are: Negri Sembilan where N.33 Port Dickson will be known as Sri Bayu; Perak where N.36 Pengakalan Baru and N.57 Sungkai will be called Beruas and Bidor respectively.

The EC notice also said those with any objection to the proposed changes can file their complaint within one month of the notice’s publication.

“Parties who can make representations objecting to the proposed recommendations are the state government, or any local authority whose area is wholly or partly comprised in the constituencies affected by the recommendation, or a body of one hundred or more persons whose names are shown on the current electoral rolls of the constituencies in question,” the notice read.

The Malay Mail Online



  1. Voters affected by Election Commission ‘s lastest scam to rig the next general election must protest in the strongest term. Malaysians must not allow the election commission to cheat in order to ensure Umno Baru controlled BN wins GE 14.

    Comment by Awaken Dayak — September 16, 2016 @ 6:26 PM | Reply

  2. Kawasan Parlimen Pagoh (Johor) hanya mempunyai 36,387 pengundi, berkurangan dari 46,793 pada 2013, iaitu sebanyak 22.24%.

    Persempadanan kawasan Pagoh sememangnya bemotif politik. Difahamkan bahawa Pagoh mempunyai sekitar 20,000 ahli UMNO. Dengan mengurangkan pengundi di kawasan ini, UMNO harap karier politik Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin akan berakhir di Parlimen ini.

    Comment by Aswal — September 16, 2016 @ 5:14 PM | Reply

  3. The Election Commission is obviously abusing its authority to help Umno Baru have a better chance of winning marginal seats in GE 14. Gerrymandering has been Umno Baru controlled BN government ‘s political weapon to stay in power. Winning GE 14 for Umno Baru is all about preserving the ill gotten wealth of all corrupted Umno Baru leaders and lawmakers.

    Comment by sabri Yaman — September 15, 2016 @ 9:09 PM | Reply

    • This is a conspiracy by EC to cheat the rakyat. A very sinful act by EC. Rakyat must fight this cheating. All those who have abused their positions in the EC to cheat the rakyat deserve to hang or spend the rest of their lives in jail. No good shall come of their cowardly complicity, ambition, dishonesty, and greed.

      Comment by Aswal — September 16, 2016 @ 5:26 PM | Reply

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: