Hornbill Unleashed

September 20, 2016

Petition against polling district transfer launched

Filed under: Politics — Hornbill Unleashed @ 9:01 PM

Taman-Bukit-Belimbing,-Ng-Tien-Chee-,-delineation,-Election-Commission,A petition was launched today against the Election Commission’s proposal to transfer the Taman Bukit Belimbing polling district from Balakong to Sri Kembangan.

The petition was organised by Serdang Member of Parliament Ong Kiang Ming and Balakong State Assemblyman Ng Tien Chee.

Ng said Taman Bukit Belimbing’s 1,562 voters, who are under the Serdang constituency, were concerned that they might lose out in the proposed re-delineation exercise.

He said under the proposed re-delineation, Taman Bukit Belimbing voters would be placed under the Sri Kembangan state assemblyman (under the proposed Bangi constituency) but will remain under the Kajang Municipal Council for local issues.

“Due to that, the Sri Kembangan state assemblyman has to deal with two local councils, that is, the Subang Jaya Municipal Council and Kajang Municipal Council, to act on behalf of Taman Bukit Belimbing voters.

“The voters are concerned over administrative issues and maintenance allocations as this will be allocated under the same assemblyman,” he said after launching the petition at a restaurant here.


Just after the launch, restaurant patrons signed the petition, rejecting the EC’s proposal to transfer their polling district to Sri Kembangan.

Ng said they hoped to collect 100 signatures to submit to the EC by Oct 14.

He said voters were also concerned that the yearly allocation for road maintenance and repairs would be reduced if the polling district was placed under Sri Kembangan.

Ng is also objecting to the changes made in the Impian Ehsan polling district that will see 3,177 voters being placed under Bangi – a new constituency to replace Serdang.

DAP’s Serdang MP Ong Kian Ming has also criticised the renaming of his constituency.

“Serdang is a well-known area to residents in Selangor, Kuala Lumpur and other parts of Malaysia.

“It is a name given during the new village development period. It also well known for Malaysian Agriculture Expo Serdang, ” he told reporters, adding that Serdang had 146,000 voters.

EC, in its latest re-delineation exercise, is seeking to change the names of 12 parliamentary seats and 34 state constituencies nationwide, ahead of the next general election due in 2018.

The federal seats affected are one each in Kedah, Negeri Sembilan, and Johor, three seats in Perak and five in Selangor, and one in the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur.

The five affected parliamentary seats in Selangor and the Kuala Lumpur (Seputeh) seat are currently held by the Opposition.

In Selangor, the five parliamentary constituencies involved are Bangi (now Serdang), Subang (Kelana Jaya), Petaling Jaya (Petaling Jaya Selatan), Damansara (Petaling Jaya Utara) and Sungai Buloh (Subang).

Minderjeet Kaur



Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: