Hornbill Unleashed

October 15, 2016

All BN states lodged objections to EC’s redelineation, Ku Nan says

Filed under: Politics — Hornbill Unleashed @ 9:01 PM

BN secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said all BN states have lodged official complaints against the Election Commission’s redelineation plan. — File picAll Barisan Nasional (BN) states have lodged official complaints against the Election Commission’s redelineation plan, according to the coalition’s secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor.

News portal Malaysiakini quoted him as saying that each state under BN had filed official objections to the EC just before the deadline yesterday.

“Yesterday was the last day so all of us have lodged (our objections) but we lodged through the proper channels, according to the rules and regulations as stated in the EC Act,” Tengku Adnan reportedly said.

He said BN chose to lodge the complaints via the state governments.

“For example, in states which are run by BN, the opposition can use 100 voters in that area to put their protest against whatever their hue and cry is all about and it’s the same thing for us.

“In states not run by us, we will get the 100 voters in that parliament constituency to protest whatever they feel like they should protest so we leave it EC to decide,” he added.

BN parties like Umno and MCA have expressed unhappiness with the redelineation exercise.

Last month, in an 18-page notice in national daily New Straits Times, the EC announced a name change for 12 parliamentary seats and 34 state seats nationwide without adding or subtracting any constituencies.

The federal seats affected include one in Kedah, three seats in Perak, five in Selangor, one in the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, one in Negri Sembilan and one in Johor.

The five affected parliamentary seats in Selangor and the sole Kuala Lumpur seat are currently held by the opposition.

Opposition MPs have noted, however, that the exercise also involves a massive transferring of voters, with Petaling Jaya Utara — that will be renamed Damansara — going from around 85,000 voters from 2013 to over 150,000 voters under the change.

Comparatively, Putrajaya that is held by Federal Territories Minister Tengku Adnan has around 18,000 voters or just 12 per cent of what the Damansara seat would have.

The Malay Mail Online


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: