Hornbill Unleashed

March 6, 2017

Sarawak PKR, DAP say won’t fight over parliamentary seats in next GE

Filed under: Politics — Hornbill Unleashed @ 8:03 AM

Sarawak PKR chairman Baru Bian (right) says both PKR and DAP have decided on the seats each will contest in the coming general elections, March 5, 2017. — Picture by Sulok TawieThe Sarawak chapters of PKR and DAP will be contesting the same parliamentary seats they had contested in 2013 for the upcoming general election, Sarawak PKR chief Baru Bian said today.

“The status quo is maintained,” he told Malay Mail Online.

He said the state chapters PKR and DAP, both partners of the Pakatan Harapan (PH), will make a joint announcement on the seat allocations later.

Baru, who is also the Ba’Kelalan state assemblyman, said the state leaders of the two parties had already reached an agreement on the seat allocations last month.

“There will be no clash in the seats to be contested by PKR and DAP this time around,” he said in reference to the 2016 state elections in which the two parties faced each other in six seats.

Sarawak DAP chairman Chong Chieng Jen had also confirmed to Malay Mail Online that an agreement has been reached by PH’s three partners on the seat allocations.

On Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) — the third partner of PH — Baru said it will go for the seats which were contested by PAS in 2013.

“PAS is already out of equation so it is not part of PH,” he said, adding that the Islamist party will go on its own in the coming elections.

“On our part, we have dissociated ourselves from PAS because of a Bill to amendment Shariah Courts (Criminal Jurisdictions) Act 1965 (tabled by its president (Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang in parliament),”Baru said.

In the 2013 general elections, State PKR contested in Santubong, Petrajaya, Bengoh (formerly Mambong), Batang Lupar, Sri Aman, Lubok Antu, Betong, Saratok, Julau, Kanowit, Selangau, Ulu Rejang, Baram, Limbang and Miri.

DAP contested in Mas Gading, Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Serian, Sarikei, Sibu, Lanang, Mukah, Kapit, Bintulu and Lawas while PAS went for Kota Samarahan, Batang Sadong, Tanjong Manis, Igan and Sibuti.

State PKR only won in Miri, DAP won in Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Sarikei, Sibu and Lanang while PAS lost all the seats it contested.

Sarawak has 31 parliamentary seats.

Source : @ Malay Mail Online



  1. Congratulations to Pakatan Harapan Sarawak for reaching an agreement on seats allocation. Amanah being the youngest party should identify commited, trust worthy and qualified candidates to contest and mobilize its election machinery soonest. Dayak NGOs should work with Pakatan Harapan to preserve the Federal Constitution and Malaysia Agreement 1963. The rural voters who were among the poorest, marginalised, neglected and forgotten must no longer be the fixed deposit of UMNO Baru controlled BN government anymore. Sarawakians must be aware of religious bigots who are expanding their influence to Sarawak and Sabah through Kemas and BTN.

    Comment by Mata Kuching — March 6, 2017 @ 12:23 PM | Reply

    • They have seen how the infighting and tussling for seats have gave victory to BN in the last state election. Not sure if they have really learnt their lessons.

      Comment by MF — March 6, 2017 @ 2:56 PM | Reply

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: