Hornbill Unleashed

June 16, 2017

Voon asks Wan Junaidi to own up on Tourism Tax Bill

Filed under: Politics — Hornbill Unleashed @ 8:02 AM

Image result for Voon Shiak NiNatural Resources and Environment Minister Dato Sri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar has been asked to come clean on why he did not speak out against the Tourism Tax Bill in the federal cabinet when it was tabled for approval.

“You can say the Press had misquoted you but in what sense have they misquoted you? Regardless, it is not at all a responsible act for a minister in the federal cabinet not to register a voice for Sarawak against an Act which is not people friendly and erodes the state’s rights.

“We want him to answer the people’s question – did he register his voice of protest in the federal cabinet when the Tourism Tax Bill was introduced?” said PKR Women national vice-president Voon Shiak Ni in a press statement yesterday.

She was responding to Wan Junaidi’s statement on Wednesday that in the spirit of collective responsibility practised in Commonwealth countries, Sarawakian Parliamentarians who are cabinet members cannot object to the ruling coalition’s decision in Parliament.

Wan Junaidi was also quoted as saying: “If you want to know why Sarawakian MPs did not voice out against the Bill, you will have to ask MPs who do not have any ministerial post.”

However, Wan Junaidi was reported by a Chinese national daily yesterday as saying that his statement was taken out of context and not reported in total.

Regardless, Voon said it was good for Wan Junaidi to make the point clear that Barisan Nasional (BN) MPs cannot register their protest votes when a government Bill is tabled, even when the rights of Sarawak were to be eroded.

Additionally, she said it was ridiculous for Wan Junaidi to justify Sarawakian federal cabinet members’ failure to object to the government’s Bill due to ‘collective responsibility adopted by Commonwealth countries’.

“It is an insult to the intelligence of the people who voted for BN. Maybe he (Wan Junaidi) should enlighten the people what is collective responsibility.”

Voon argued that if it was a ‘collective responsibility’ for Sarawakian federal cabinet members to support the government Bill, then they should be collectively responsible for all the wrong decisions made and passed in Parliament.

“Do not ask us voters to take it,” she said.

Among the laws Sarawak BN ministers and Parliamentarians had approved in the recent years that eroded Sarawak’s rights were Territorial Sea Act, 2012; Goods and Services Tax Act, 2014 and National Security Council Act, 2016.

BN Sarawak has 25 MPs in Parliament with six federal cabinet ministers namely Wan Junaidi, Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof, Datuk Seri Richard Riot Jaem, Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri, Datuk Seri Rohani Abdul Karim and Datuk Joseph Entulu Belaun.

Source : The Borneo Post Online



Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: