Hornbill Unleashed

July 14, 2017

Pakatan chooses logo, Mahathir and Anwar for top posts

Filed under: Politics — Hornbill Unleashed @ 8:01 AM

pakatan-harapan-logoDr Mahathir Mohamad and Anwar Ibrahim were today named to lead Pakatan Harapan following a meeting at the PKR headquarters, with the coalition leaders promising to abolish the goods and services tax (GST) among seven immediate steps it would take in its first 100 days in power.

Anwar was appointed as the leader, while Mahathir the chairman.

A joint statement read by Mahathir also named Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail as the president, assisted by three deputies, Muhyiddin Yassin (PPBM), Lim Guan Eng (DAP) and Mohamad Sabu (Amanah).

PKR deputy president Azmin Ali and his PPBM counterpart Mukhriz Mahathir were named as vice-presidents, along with DAP’s Chong Chieng Jen and Amanah’s Salahuddin Ayub.

Former deputy minister Saifuddin Abdullah is the chief secretary.

The announcement comes a month after speculation over the leadership structure of the new coalition, which will see the four opposition parties for the first time going to the polls using a common logo.

A new logo was also chosen today, following calls for the public to submit artworks that could best describe the coalition.pakatan-harapan-logo2

The logo has the word “Harapan” against a red backdrop, with the “A” in the middle in a triangle shape.

“We enlarged the ‘A’ to make it seem like the top of a mountain,” Mahathir told reporters.

He said the coalition would be registered as soon as possible.

“Less than a week, tomorrow if it’s up to me,” he added.

Mahathir however avoided questions on whether the meeting last night arrived at a prime ministerial candidate for the coalition.

But he said the coalition would submit a fresh appeal to get a royal pardon for Anwar, to lift a ban on him from active politics.

Asked if it meant Anwar was the choice as prime minister, Dr Mahathir said he still had to go through many obstacles, adding that it was something to be decided by the “seventh prime minister” after Najib Razak.

“We will announce it… the seventh, we will announce. Today we agreed on the eighth,” said Mahathir.

Source : FMT Online by Khairil Ashraf and Vanesha Shurentheran


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: