Hornbill Unleashed

October 14, 2016

Speculation rife Sarawak PKR reps to quit

Filed under: Politics — Hornbill Unleashed @ 9:02 PM

Ali-Biju-Baru-Bian-See-Chee-HowRumours are rife in Sarawak that three Sarawak PKR assemblymen are set to ditch the party for a Sarawakian opposition party, the Borneo Post Online reported Friday.

The rumours claim that Sarawak PKR Chief and Ba’Kelalan Assemblyman Baru Bian, Batu Lintang Assemblyman See Chee How and Krian Assemblyman Ali Biju are going to join Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK), and that they had met PBK leaders to discuss the matter.

However, Baru, who was contacted by Borneo Post Online, said there was no truth to the rumour.

“We maintain our position which we have expressed before by See Chee How, that we will remain steadfast with PKR and Pakatan Harapan,” he said.

The rumours of the defections from PKR to a local party began after a number of Pakatan Harapan leaders in Sabah, including elected representatives, left PKR and the DAP to join local opposition parties.

PBK, which was officially registered in 2013, has been inactive since but on Wednesday, the party announced the launch of its Lanang branch in Sibu and its Miri branch,

According to the report PBK Lanang branch secretary Franky Anong, declined to comment on the rumours, and only said that PBK would make some major announcements that would affect Sarawak and even Sabah’s political scene by the end of this year or beginning of next year, after on-going negotiations were finalised.

He added that PBK would not be working together with any national parties.

“We are fighting for the state’s autonomy. That is our only mission. Our next move now is to set up Kuching and Bintulu branches,” he said.

Recently, Sabah PKR and Sabah DAP, were hit by a flurry of resignations, which started with PKR vice-president Darell Leiking quitting the party to join a Sabah-based multiracial party led by former Umno vice-president Shafie Apdal.

This was followed by Sabah PKR chief and Klias Assemblyman Lajim Ukin, Moyog Assemblyman Terence Siambun, Likas Assemblyman Junz Wong, Sabah PKR secretary-general Maijol Mahap, Sabah PKR Wanita chief Johair Matlan and Sabah DAP treasurer David Williams and vice-chairman George Hiew.

FMT Reporters Online

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: